Available Awards

The available awards are coordinated by the Awards Committee of the Educational and Research Foundation for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. The AAFPRS Foundation Awards Program was instituted to:

  • Recognize research completed and previously presented at an Academy meeting; and
  • Recognize members who have contributed to the Academy and to their communities.

The deadline for all entry forms and nominations for the Shuster, Tresley, Residency Travel, Wright, Dickinson, and Community Service is June 1 or the first business day thereafter.

The Roe & Gillies Awards are automatically selected from papers submitted by current fellows in the AAFPRS Foundation Fellowship Program. These papers are due Feb. 1 or the first business day thereafter.

2018 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to the following members for receiving these awards in 2018.

Efrain Davalos Award

Yong-ju Yang, MD, Seoul, Korea

William K. Wright Award

Edwin F. Williams, III, MD, Latham, NY

F. Mark Rafaty Memorial Award

Jeffrey Spiegel MD, Newton, MA

Community Service Award

Thomas Romo, III, MD, New York

Residency Travel Award

Neela Rao, MD, Chicago, IL
The Effects of Topical Yeast Protein Extract on Wound Healing in Healthy and Metabolically Compromised Mouse Models

Residency Travel Awards

Brian A. Nuyen, MD, Palo Alto, CA
“Efficacy of Preventive Antibiotics in Rhinoplasty – A Cochrane-Protocol Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis”
Deanna C. Menapace, MD, Rochester, MN
“How Patient Decision Making Characteristics Affect Satisfaction in Facial Plastic Surgery”

Ben Shuster Memorial Award

Sagar Patel, MD, Sugar Land, TX
Reasoned Opioid Use after Rhinoplasty

John Orlando Roe Award

Lucas M. Bryant, MD, Philadelphia, PA
“A Novel Extended Deep Plane Facelift Technique for Jawline Rejuvenation and Volumization”

The Awards Committee would like to ask recent fellowship graduates to consider submitting your research papers for the Ben Schuster and Ira Tresley awards, as well as encourage medical student and resident application for the residency travel awards for next year’s fall meeting. For more information on the AAFPRS awards or to nominate a colleague for next year’s ceremonies, please click the “Available Awards” link below.

Available Awards | Entry Form* | Nomination Form*